Scriffles: The Great Betrayal.

On the weekend I was catching up with a friend who has children. She laughed when she told a story about how one of them had told her that they were trying to be really good in the run-up to Christmas so as to get as many presents as possible. I said if they get any more than they already do they'll need a mini-skip for wrapping paper.
While we laughed I pointed out that this whole idea of being rewarded for being good when we're children is quite a serious issue because when we grow up and leave school we discover that being good is not really what it's all about. We learn this concept the hard way - but I think some are born street smart, or maybe they just has street smart parents.

I won't call it wise because being street smart is one thing but many people I think carry such bitter resentment after discovering that there's no Santa Claus that it rankles and they become masters of schadenfreude - they are cruel to others and delight in others pain because its like payback for this "great betrayal".
This is not smart it's shallow. My friend and I pulled the concept of "being good" apart - can you tell? - and we agreed that you can't tell a seven-year-old being good is probably not going to lead to success in the long run because then how do you then control the child?
There's another catch here. Children watch what their parents do and then do the same.
Is there a cycle here?
We wonder what's wrong with young people perhaps we should look to our own behaviour - if their parents are cruel to people and gossip behind their friend's backs what do you think a child learns? Certainly not good values.
This is an even worse betrayal I think.
Being a parent is a serious business - I'm just an aunt.
But when I look into the eyes of these children who are seeking understanding I feel so strongly that I can not betray them.
If they give me their trust and their attention and they want me to read with them or teach them printing or carve a pumpkin for Halloween and just sit down around a campfire and talk - I want to give them my time. Their parents spend time with them, they love spending time with them - most of the time.
If I only had $10 for every time someone told me that it's easy for me because I can give them back.
But you see the kids know that I don't have to spend time with them. I'm just their aunt. I want to spend time with them.
I'm assuming that's why they like me. I can't think of any other reason.
Half the time it feels like the rest of the world really doesn't have time for anybody - doesn't it?