Scriffles: Luck's just around the corner.

I left home to do grocery shopping thinking: "I have nothing to more to write. Ever. I have nothing to say. I will blog no more. I will not take my camera. I will not take my Flip. There's nothing out there for me any more."

I hop in the car and weave my way through my little crossroads puzzle to the main road where a certain "tolerance" factor is introduced. 
Game on. 
Suddenly everything is interesting once more.
Some white-haired geezer glares at me as I pull in behind him - my blood starts to boil.
"Watch yo'all lookin' at? Are you lookin' at me?"
I keep my distance giving him no excuses.

</object> </object>

Don't worry no one got hurt. 
Astounding how intense people are on the road - death stares in rear vision mirrors "just because".
I tell you it's a powder keg when combined with PMT.

I can hear these words falling out of the mouth of a defence lawyer in a courtroom now: "What did she say?"
" 'Just because', Your Honour...."
"Just because" is the equal and opposite force to "Whatever"!

You might not think of a parking lot as a haven but it is for me 'cause the Parking Fairy is my friend.
I found a park beside a post right at the entrance to the ramp that goes up to Coles!
I have the knack, I am charmed when it comes to parking. Luck.

Guys don't get PMT but some of them are in a constant state of PMT I think.
Like the guy on the weekend who happened to glance round just at the moment that I got too frustrated with his girlfriend standing with the door open so I couldn't pull into the empty car park space beside them.
So I threw my hands up in the air in frustration.
He wasn't supposed to see. He was facing the other way.
The cars behind me start beeping because I'm holding up traffic and this loser wags his finger at me!
He's ready to get out of the car and tell me off except his girlfriend is trying to understand why he's all upset and is trying to calm him down.
Finally she gets into the car and closes the door and I'm scared to pull into the car park for fear of retribution but I've got to get out of the way.
So I decide to pull in and I wind the window down.
"What's the matter?" she says.
"I don't know your boyfriend's a nut case," I reply. "I didn't do anything."

You know those nights when you lie awake terrified that nothing will ever be right again - the long, dark night of the soul or something like that.
Well, stretch that out over a period of a few days and call it PMT.
It feels like nothing is right or will ever right again.
"Just because" - is the overriding force that takes over if you're not talking yourself down at these times with soothing thoughts like:
"Give it a day before you react. No, it's not a good idea to eat the guy in the car in front."

On my way to Coles I saw a beautiful African girl dressed to the 9s in her school uniform.
Luck comes before everything in the game of life.
This country gives her the opportunity to live peacefully and prosper.
That's lucky isn't it?
She has the perspective of two cultures - that's lucky too.

Thinking lucky is something parents can pass on to their children.

And maybe some people are born with it.
If it doesn't come naturally then it may take years to develop - if you're lucky.

One thing's for sure it's damn near impossible if you never hear a voice raised in your defence.

My theory is that everyone needs just one person to tell them that they are worthy, they are talented, they are beautiful, they are lucky...

If just one person truly believes in you - a teacher, your grandma, your friend, your husband - you start to believe too because everyone really wants to believe they're OK.

Everyone needs someone to believe in them - especially at that crucial point when you think there's no hope.
I read a tweet the other day: A friend is someone who knows the song in your heart and sings it back to you when you can't remember it."

Luck comes in many shapes and sizes.
He's just around the corner. 
She's sitting beside you.
He's smiling.
She's in your heart.
You are someone's Luck.