Scriffles: Freaking out just a little bit. And it's not even Halloween yet...

This is going to sound really pathetic. This is the first post I've written since my computer hard drive died and took everything,
and I mean everything, with it. I can't even attach a photo - unless you want to download a raw file, and I know you don't -
because I have to re-install Photoshop and every other program etc...etc...etc...

I'm sure it's happened to you at some point.
I just wish I'd backed up the family photos - some of them are burnt into my memory.
Maybe the memory is more powerful than a jpg. That's why I'm backing off.

I'm distancing myself from this computer. I've got a green screensaver with a ladybug on a leaf.
Lady bugs are good luck - that's what my Grandmother used to say.

This will either happen over a long period of time or I will wake up one morning and
blitz it. We'll see. Nothing behaves the way it used to...
I counted on my computer to remember how I liked things and where things were.
Only 18 months ago, this is how it all began between us with a blank space.
What a strange feeling. People said changing jobs after 20 years must be like getting divorced.
I agreed because I don't know what getting divorced feels like - to share a life and then lose it.
I think this is more like divorce.

I know that it's not all bad. It's kind of good because it motivates me to do other things.

Luckily, I don't store my writing on this computer. I write long hand.
It's been my saviour over the past week - I've been able to keep my head because I knew I had kept it safe.
So don't let this happen to you. Back up.

I went to see AstroBoy yesterday when the repair shop gave me the bad news. http://www.astroboy-themovie.com/
And now I feel like Dr Tenma - he builds a robot to replace his real son and discovers he can't replace his son.
Not that I thought my computer was my son but now I realise it had a personality - a very cluttered, busy, personality.

I liked Astro. Magnficient character recreation. But my God didn't they pad the script out with some shit! Sorry.
They recreated the pathos and then they stuck three unnecessary characters into the script - Dramaturg please!
I could've done without the robot revolutionaries. A fridge?
The wiper and squeeze bottle on the other hand made me laugh out loud.

Well, it's Halloween tomorrow. BOO! Though I've already had a good scare.