Scribbles: Dial the Devil

For many years now, I've fought tooth and nail to keep the

same phone number at work.
I just love the silence, the shock, the amusement...
each reaction is different, but there's always a reaction.
"For it is a human number.
"Its number is the Six Hundred and Sixty Six."

Author David Seltzer quotes Revelations at the front
of The Omen. It's such a GREAT story.

I picked it up from a second-hand bookstore:
Great Horror Film Stories: The Omen, Rosemary's
Baby, and Salem's Lot.

 
666
It's the only story I've read in the book.
I watched Rosemary's Baby with Mia Farrow years ago and
was almost sick at the sight of her eating raw meat. Still
can barely think about it.

And there's no way I'm sitting up a night reading Salem's Lot.
I read Stephen King when I was teenager.
One night I was reading Cujo and I almost died when the 
wardrobe door creaked a the same time as I was reading
about something creaking. I swear.... I still can't stand
the sight of a clown or a drain thank's to his novel It.

And yet I cling to my number. 
I don't believe we choose our curses.
Our curses we can't escape.

The ironic thing is that people looking for the help desk seem
to dial 666 rather than 660 - it's the thought of people in
hell ringing the Devil's number for help that makes me chuckle
inside when I they interrupt my train of thought with their
wrong number. :-)