Raindrops on roses and Seth Godin's Linchpin.

I'm listening to the audio book and I need something beautiful to keep in mind so I don't cry out loud. Raindrops on roses.

Over 10 years ago, I did a course at the Relaxation Centre called The Centre Within. The guy who took the two day self-development course did this little meditation thing at some point. He got you to close your eyes and imagine yourself a child again.
He asked us to remember how we learned to draw and how it didn't matter (in the beginning) if the grass was blue and the sky was green - but then we went to school.
At school the teacher then would rap you over the knuckles for not conforming : the sky is blue therefore the sky you paint must be blue.
At this point, an involuntary sob escaped from my throat. I remember it because it was a revelatory moment for me - it took me completely by surprise.
It changed my life. I decided to go to art school and study photography, I decided not to be like everyone else, I had the guts to grow my skills despite not knowing where I was going to end up - I still don't know.

Seth Godin is not going to make me cry out but I reckon reading this book might stop a lot of other people from crying out in the darkness of a long, dark night wondering what the future will bring.

He says that people who are "Linchpins" are different but "the linchpins among us are not the ones born with a magical talent".
"They are people who have decided that a new kind of work is important and train themselves to do it."

"It doesn't pay to do factory work at factory wages only to subsidize the boss." - Can't argue with that.