Net console - Dear Rabbit

I was horrified to see my former best friend from high school rushing towards me in the supermarket with her youngest daughter in tow.
So glad to see me she spilled her life's story out there at the checkout.
She thought it was great to see me. Eventually, she wondered what I'd been doing for the past few decades.
The betrayal this woman had committed - let's just say, my head spun around like she'd hit it with a baseball bat.
I have never understood it.
New century, all sins forgiven? No sir-eee. Not a chance!
I could have faked excitement for her benefit but my thoughts floated in space in slow motion, while she nattered on and on, while flashing her toothy grin.
High school ended and so did our friendship - with not even a word or explanation.
We had sat in classes together for years, played sport together. Shared thoughts and dreams. I thought we were friends.
I tried to keep in touch, even though our lives moved in separate directions. I was at uni. She went straight to work.
She never made time for me.
And here she is at the check-out trying to re-establish contact.
I gather all my conscious being up to be polite to her - not thrilled to know that she lives in the same suburb - just blocks away.
She's a really smart girl. Smarter than I ever was. More popular than I ever will be.
She was my best friend through senior - we were in the same home class in Year 8.
The dereliction of a friendship smarts every time I even think of her. Some hurts never fade.
High school was the longest time I stayed in one school: I never spent more than two years in a primary school.
Moved in Grade 2, moved in Grade 4, moved in Grade 6 - that was another big one but I found my best friend from Grade 5&6 and we do keep in touch.
Just watch Stand By Me to see why it's a big deal. A really big deal for kids.
Friendship, Belonging, Betrayal. The last one doesn't belong in the same sentence.
I found a photo I took of my nieces with their pet black rabbit, Sparkle = :-)
Sparkle died last year.

He used to sit beside me in the sunshine when we were by ourselves - just being together. 

I never really thought much of rabbits before him. Now I think that rabbits are just as good as dogs.
He really did have a Sparkle personality. His death hit everyone hard. Very unfortunate circumstances.
He died under the knife. He had a broken leg. The vet told my sister that rabbits don't react well to the trauma of operations but he wouldn't have lived without one.
It is believed that he fractured his leg when her littlest girl tripped and fell while carrying him. I never got to say goodbye.
Nothing to be done. I found a photo of him yesterday and cried - his big feet, that toothy grin, and he was wearing sunglasses.
We all used to have such fun being together!
Well, anyway, last week I went to a different supermarket. And guess who I saw? No, not Rabbit.
She coolly walked past me and my trolley, with her youngest daughter in tow.
I'd seen her out walking in the mornings too. I crossed to the other side of the road or just smiled without stopping to chat.
She got the message. I don't want to be friends now. I do believe in turning the other cheek.
But when you still feel the knife in your back...
And well might you say that she didn't intend to hurt my feelings.
All I know for sure is that no one was to blame for the death of Rabbit.
As they say, Shit Happens.