iPad ergonomics are what interest me most. Are touch screens the answer to RSI? Review

The touch screen of an iPad eliminates the mouse from my writing equation.

I'm hoping it has significant ergonomic benefits.

I see that the jury is still out in ergonomics blogs.

I believe that just having an option to alternate between is beneficial.

I love writing on the iPad - but only with the keyboard dock.

The angle of the screen is great for me but you have to work at a desk or table that is the ideal height so that your feet are still flat on the floor.

But surely if the screen is too low for you use the phone book - if you still own one - as a tower.

The only function I'd like to see added to the iPad is a voice recording function - with an edit program/app.

I've only been using the iPad for a week but it feels more comfortable to write on because I can access all the programs with a touch - rather than a click.

And I can edit the text with a touch. 

I downloaded Pages - the Apple equivalent of Word Doc - for about $15. 

The screen and text is large enough to read.

The second thing I did was load my audio books.

The battery lasts all day.

But then I'm not playing music at the same time as I'm writing.

And I'm sure playing movies will drain the battery much faster.

This technology is an absolute Godsend for journalism in my opinion.

And my opinion comes from the "restless years" of using clunky old laptops to write court stories when juries come back with their verdicts at 9pm; writing remotely from parliamentary sittings and sending news stories via clunky phone hook-ups from country Queensland and from writing police news stories in my head speeding back to the office so that I can type it straight into the computer.

Broadband is still a major hitch for emailing stories remotely. 

The only other interesting thing is I keep touching the computer screen to edit the text now.

Oh well. I can't wait for the next gen computers.

Now touch screens are a value to me.

I really couldn't be bothered with iPod or iPhone.

Touch screens - yeah. 

Now touch screens - YEAH!