Danger Will Robinson. Danger! Flail robot arms and flash computer panel lights.

These were often the famous last words of The Robot on Lost in Space just before Dr Smith or some alien disabled him to shut him up: Crush Kill Destroy!

That's what I'm trying to do to my tax return at the moment: Here's my tax table. I've got an appointment tomorrow with the accountant.


That's what I should be doing now instead of this post.

But I have one thing I must get off my mind now about recklessness attitude of the airlines during this whole Iceland Volcano ash cloud situation - now they want compensation!

Was it the government's or the public's fault? Who's going to compensate the traveling public or other businesses affected by the crisis?

People can't get their heads around the safety aspect of their business - they don't want to act responsibly. No it's not that they don't want to it's that they are able to build an argument based on their own priorities to justify their demands.

The other day I heard one airline boss basically saying: "To HELL with the mathematical models of where the ash is going to linger just open the airport so we can make money!"

Well, that's what I heard - that's not the exact words that he was speaking.

At the same time I've been listen to the attacks on Former Victorian Police Commissioner Christine Nixon for going to dinner when she should have been overseeing the bush fire emergency on the night of the Black Saturday bush fires. 

That night I remember watching the 7pm news when about 8 people were reported to have died. A couple of hours later, maybe it was 10.30pm I listened to the radio news before I turned in and suddenly the toll was something I couldn't believe - I didn't believe it - how could close to 100 people have died in a bush fire in just an hour or so? But they did. And yes, it was in this time that Christine Nixon went to dinner.

How casual we are with other people's lives. I do think she's been unfairly hounded because her behaviour reflects a community norm of lack of due consideration of "possible consequences of our actions".

Sure you might get some planes through the ash clouds - but why should some people have to die just to get back to business as usual - that's what they're talking about.

I've spent several months out of the rat race now just researching social media, writing and making decisions. I'm not on anyone's clock. Last Friday I decided, now that I'm traveling at my pace and not someone else's, that the pace people are supposed to travel at is at least half what the average modern-day rat travels. What does this do to our ability to make decisions if we don't let our mind think about anything except the 100 things we must do in the next second: pick up the phone, put on the brake, watch the red light, ignore the tailgater, get to work on time, recharge the phone, return the DVD..... do you see what I mean?

If I don't lodge my tax return before the May deadline I'll have to pay a fine - I haven't paid due consideration to this because I've had 10 months to do it and I haven't. 

I know my saying this is going to change nothing. I don't even think you have time to consider what I'm saying. Do you?

Danger! Danger! Danger Will Rob-in-s....disabled.