Air pollution triggers asthma. Pheasant's cries go unheeded.

I took the dog for a walk this morning and found this wild pheasant hiding from attacking peewees in the bush around a nearby house.
This poor bird has obviously lost its home to urban development because it's been wandering the district for weeks. 
A few weeks ago, I heard it's wild calls in my back yard and saw it in a tree. Highly unusual. 
I'm assuming it's the same bird because there can't be too many wild pheasants in the suburbs, let alone one suburb.
There's been a lot of bush that's been cleared over the past few years.  It's affected residents (like me) who awake to the rumbling of Gateway traffic which sounds like a restless mechanical surf in the early morning quiet.
I think the wilderness used to act like a buffer but the new suburbs just act as echo caverns.
Pity people and organizations don't understand ecology. The school which is my backyard neighbour refused to trim the tops of its self-pruning trees because they want wildlife. But the noisy banana birds and the crows have killed all the finches and little birds.
And these bully birds which attack my dog refuse to allow the pheasant into their territory it seems. 
I saw a koala go walking through only once. I haven't seen a blue tongue lizard for quite some time - perhaps because there are too many cats.
Lovely walk. Got a new coat of deisel soot on my lungs from our regular bus services. Remembered why I don't go walking now.