A lesson in seduction for social media pundits. Don't flinch when fishing.

"Do I know you?
"I'm sure I've seen you."
This 20-something dark-eyed, curly-topped Latino lad has been to the George Clooney school of charm - he's not shy at all.
His personal space is obviously a little narrow because he's standing close - not quite face to face but close - and his gaze is unflinching.
This is a rare quality - an unflinching but relaxed and interested gaze.
"Don't worry I don't bite, not at work anyway," he coos making direct eye contact.
Irresistible - and he knows it. He's not even trying.
He's half South American-half Canadian but his parents met in Israel so you can't pick his accent.
He makes his job look easy as he throws a line out and reels customers in.

He hovers, casually leans against the counter of the stall where he sells skin care products.
He doesn't smile those gaudy toothy grins that most sales people think are so attractive.
No. He raises his dark brow and his eyes sparkle as if he's really interested and then he acts as if we have already met.
And he makes you feel as though he's pleased to make - not a customer - but an acquaintance.
His art is seduction and he's a master.
He sold $2000 worth of product to a guy at Christmas.

I thought I'd reward this bravura performance but then he spoilt it.
As I handed him my card he turned and said, "I like you so," as if the thought had just occurred, "I'm gonna do this for you."
As if I was something special. And off he goes reaching for another product - that's right he's doubling his bet.
Buy this as well and I'll throw in this ... neat. If you buy this .... I'll throw this in for free.
It reminded me a lot of social media actually - that's all I'm gonna say.
Blasphemy is my middle name - if I had one.

Apparently, Edgar Allan Poe was not popular because he dared to challenge the optimism of his Age.
I'm not comparing myself to Poe - I'm just saying to question something is to assert your right to know the facts.

I'm reading Tales of Mystery and Imagination, a book of Poe's short stories. Really quite interesting. But that's another blog.

Did you know that the human being stopped evolving as a species 50,000 years ago.
(The Turning Point: Science, Society, and The Rising Culture, by Fritjof Capra)
The human brain (it's the same size!) and body basically are the same as the BC model - FACT!
Only the power of scientific knowledge and technological skills have evolved. That's a worry isn't it?
(I've held this theory since high school when ancient history was my passion.)

What would Aristotle do with Twitter?
What would Socrates do with Facebook? He-he.
There's a thought.
Socrates, the Gadfly who was put to death for challenging the morals of his fellow Athenians.

I've been thinking that the most amazing special moments in life are few.
There aren't that many and that's why we remember them, even when they are seemingly insignificant.
In real life there's data flying in all directions in a hundred variations and formats.
What's posted online is finite (contrary to belief) and filtered. Kinda = not the same.
But don't let someone else tell you what those moments are or should be or where they should be conducted!
Is it possible to be more than entertaining online?
Being entertaining is bloody hard after all.

Ah well. One o'clock and all's well!
But wait! GIANT! There's a giant washed up on the shore of Liliput.

The online reality is being written minute by minute.
We're all in a Jonathan Swift adventure.
New media is Gulliver and we're the little people.

Are you still here? The End.