Have you still got your first pair of heels?

I was so proud of my first pair of high heels. Today they are called "court shoes"

The lovlies I bought at 17 look quite sensible by "stripper heel" standards.  Stripper heel ladies of today walk tall - if you call it walking. Am I jealous? Sometimes.

Mum bought me a pair of shoes last week. Cuties. Comfortable. Like a second skin. And they reminded me of another old pair of shoes...

This pair was a bargain circa probably 2007-2008 - under $100.

Wedges still around. Boutique gone.

Good runners cradle your foot and rock in perfect balance to propel you forwards - warning: no brakes.

Easily packed in a corner. Very handy for attending premieres and network press launches in their day.

Toe crushers crippling at weddings.

Genuine, made in Brisbane, 1950s, all leather and bought from an actual "emporium" in a little hinterland town. Pristine, vintage, boxed for $20.

On a whim. $20. Thought it might come in handy for 1960s fancy dress. 

Thick and thin and then a new puppy fancies them.

So the puppy claimed two pairs of shoes and a pair of boots - worn three times. 

Boots (ankle, lace-ups, hiking, long),  a tonne of runners, a fortune in dance shoes, many sandles but, alas, no stripper heels. Walk tall.

When I was kid my father put up a scroll in the kitchen that read: I had no shoes and I complained until I met a man who had no feet.

I always thought it meant appreciate what you have. But now I see a different meaning. Before you judge, walk a mile in their shoes. I don't believe I can walk a mile in stripper heels.

Do you still have your first pair of heels?